The Future of the Field: Globalising and Localising the Great War Conference

by I.A. Isherwood

Sarah Johnson offers her reflections on a conference we attended this past weekend.

Gettysburg and the Great War

This weekend, I got the whirlwind opportunity to attend a conference at Oxford University titled Globalising and Localising the Great War and present my research on the town of Gettysburg. The conference and wider project affiliated with it seek to expand First World War studies in ways that analyze the ramifications of an international war on local populations. This project is so valuable because people often relate with huge historical events through personal experiences. People remember where they were and what they were doing during particular times because it is a way of tying oneself into history. For example, remembering exactly where I was when the Twin Towers fell on 9/11 and having a close friend deployed to Afghanistan is the way I have tied myself to the global historical events I am living through. Paper topics sought to find tangible experiences like my example for the Great War generation, spanning the…

View original post 305 more words

